Pokémon Sword and Shield

Pokemon Sword And Shield Gym Mechanics Clarified

This article is over 4 years old and may contain outdated information

Yesterday, we reported that Pokemon Sword And Shield will feature a total of 18 different gyms divided into Major and Minor League, with substantial differences between the two games. Today, The Pokemon Company issued a statement that clarifies the mechanics.

Recommended Videos

According to the statement, Pokemon Sword And Shield will both feature the standard 8 gyms belonging to the Major League, complete with the usual badges to collect. The other Gyms belonging to the Minor League will be different between the two games and are part of the setting of each game.

Interestingly enough, the total number of gyms hasn’t been confirmed, so we don’t know if there are indeed 18 as revealed yesterday.

Judging by the statement, the gym mechanics in Pokemon Sword And Shield are only an expansion of what has been seen so far in the series, offering more to the players.

Over the course of the main story, Trainers will challenge eight Gyms, which are all in the Major League. Which Gyms appear in the Major League and Minor League will differ between Pokémon Sword and Pokémon Shield. For example, depending on the version of the game, Trainers will be able to challenge different Gym Leaders, such as Bea or Allister.

Pokemon Sword and Shield launch on November 15th worldwide on Nintendo Switch.

Image of Francesco De Meo
Francesco De Meo
Francesco has been writing about video games and the video games industry for almost a decade, focusing on all aspects of the industry. Having always loved handheld gaming, he joined TouchTapPlay in 2013 to cover mobile gaming and, later on, the Nintendo Switch console, which is today his most played console.

Write A Comment

Pokemon Sword And Shield Gym Mechanics Clarified

Comments are on moderation and will be approved in a timely manner. Please read the following rules before commenting:

  • All comments must be on topic and add something of substance to the post
  • No swearing or inappropriate words
  • No asking or begging for anything free
  • Do not attempt to start a poll in the comments
  • Comments in all CAPS will be removed
  • We reserve the right to remove a comment for any reason
  • Do not impersonate a staff member or influencer

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.