Home Game Guides Genshin Impact Pity System, Characters Wishes and More

Genshin Impact Pity System, Characters Wishes and More

Genshin Impact Pity System, Characters Wishes and More
Recommended Videos

Genshin Impact is a free to play gacha game that uses microtransactions as a source of revenue. The game is currently available on PC, PS4, Android and iOS. Like other gacha games, Genshin Impact also uses the banner system where players can perform gacha-rolls to get playable characters, weapons and more.

Related: Genshin Impact New Co-op Event, Free Primogems, Character Ascension Materials & More

Genshin Impact Pity System Guide

In Genshin Impact, players perform “Wishes” to get 3-Star or above characters or weapons(Max 5 star). Whenever a player uses 10-wishes, he/she is guaranteed to get a 4-star or above item.

Also Read, Genshin Impact Guide: How To Get More Primogems Faster For Wishes

If, the player uses single wish and doesn’t get a 4-star or above item in 9 consecutive pulls. He is guaranteed to get a 4-star or above item in the 10th pull. Similarly, if a player doesn’t get a 5-star item with 89 wishes, then the 90th wish is guaranteed to be a 5-star item. This is the pity system in action.

Pity System in promotional character wishes

For Genshin Impact promotional character wishes, when players get a 4-star item, they have a 50% chance to get a 4-star promotional character(characters shown on banner). If, they don’t get a 4-star promotional playable character(instead they get a 4-star weapon). Then the next 4-star item is guaranteed to be a 4-star featured character.

Also Read: Genshin Impact: How To Solve Three Divine Birds Puzzle at Qingyun’s Peak

So, the next big question players have, is “How does the pity system gets reset in Genshin Impact?”. The answer to that is quite a simple one. When a player gets a 4-star or 5-star item, the pity system gets a reset. In simple words, suppose a player gets a 4-star in-game item in his/her 5th wish. Then the pity counter will reset to ‘0’ i.e now he is not guaranteed to get a 4-star item in the next 5-wish( 10th wish).

Understanding the pity system can become confusing to new players. If you have any doubt regarding the pity system in Genshin Impact. Please ask us about it, in the comments down below.

Check out our other Genshin Impact guides.

We are hiring game guide writers!

Touch, Tap, Play is looking for experienced writers to produce guides for popular mobile and Nintendo Switch titles. If mobile gaming is your passion and you want to get paid to create guides, you’re in the right place. Check out our job ad today!

About the author

Hritwik Raj

4675 POSTS
Hritwik is a guides writer who has been writing about video games for almost a decade. He is a Computer Science graduate who has always been into gaming. Most of the time, you will find him covering News and Guides for various publications. And when he is not working, you will find him fighting with his friends about how good of a gamer he is. His favorite games include Fallout 76, Borderlands 2, Call of Duty, Apex Legends, Destiny 2, Souls series, Genshin Impact, and The Last of Us.

Write A Comment

Genshin Impact Pity System, Characters Wishes and More


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.